Living apart is my least favorite thing

Like many young couples, we met in college. For Carolyn and I, it was in vet school. She was a first year student and I was a third year. Everything was great until I graduated and we found out there was no possible way I was going to find work around Ames, Iowa, while she finished school. So I took a job back in South Dakota and now we just see each other on weekends. It works, but it is not fun at all.

Carolyn in full-blown study mode.

Carolyn in full-blown study mode. There is so much focus going on right now.

So Carolyn studies all week and I work, then on the weekends I’m on call she come up to South Dakota. When I’m not on call I visit her in Iowa. It’s a five hour drive, which isn’t awful, but it is still quite a drive. At this point, we have one year and 26 days until she graduates (not like I’ve got some calendar or anything).

We try to keep positive about it though. There are some advantages, like…well…I can’t think of any, but it’s not the worst thing in the world, right? Really though, as busy as both of us are time has flown by fairly quickly. And it has made us appreciate each other even more. If you don’t get to see your spouse but two days each week, you treasure the time you have with each other. So when we do get to live together again, our relationship will be stronger. So if any of you out there are going through the same thing, remember we’re pulling for you–you’ll make it! 🙂

-Jake

 

4 responses to “Living apart is my least favorite thing

  1. I can relate to the living apart thing! My husband and I dated four years apart while we were in college. He went to the Uof MN because it was close to the home farm, so he could work while in college. I went to SDSU because they had a better scholarship package. Hang in there!
    I am glad I found your blog. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

